Board of Commissioners


The Board of County Commissioners is composed of five members elected by the voters through at-large elections for four-year staggered terms. The Board, as the county's governing authority, is responsible for establishing policy for county operations, enacting ordinances and resolutions to promote the county's health, safety, and welfare, and approving the annual budget and millage rate which funds the operations of the constitutional officers as well as the departments under the Board's jurisdiction. The Board appoints a county administrator to supervise the day-to-day operations of the county. The Gordon County Board of Commissioners meets the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 6 pm in the Assembly Room of the Judicial Building, 101 South Piedmont Street, in Calhoun. In addition, a work session is held at 5 pm. The public is encouraged to attend and participate in these public meetings.

Photo of the Board of Commissioners on a staircase as of November 21, 2023 (JPG)

(From Left to Right: Commissioner Randy Abernathy, Commissioner Kurt Sutherland,
Chairman M.L. Bud Owens, Vice-Chairman Kevin Cunningham, and Commissioner Chad Steward)

  1. Photo of Commission Chairman M.L. Bud Owens (JPG)

    M.L. Bud Owens

    Chairman, District 1 (R)

    Term:  January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2024

  1. Photo of Commission Vice-Chairman Kevin Cunningham (JPG)

    Kevin Cunningham

    Vice Chairman, District 5 (R)

    Term:  January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2024

  1. Photo of Commissioner Chad Steward (JPG)

    Chad Steward

    Commissioner, District 2 (R)

    Term:  January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2026

  1. Photo of Commissioner Kurt Sutherland (JPG)

    Kurt Sutherland

    Commissioner, District 4 (R)

    Term:  January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2026

  1. Photo of Commissioner Randy Abernathy (JPG)

    Randy Abernathy

    Commissioner, District 3 (R)

    Term:  November 21, 2023 to December 31, 2024